top of page
Writer's pictureSasha Shunko

60 Things That Make me Happy

A couple of years ago, I had another blog on which I posted random life updates and I'm not quite sure what the goal of that one was...


On that blog, I made a post about the “40 things that make me happy”

In all realness, I think it was originally 50 but I was too uncreative to make 50.

With the new decade almost upon us I decided why not remake that list? Plus, when is it not a good idea to think about the things that make you smile?


  1. Waking up EXCITED for the day and what is ahead

  2. Sun shining through windows and clear skies

  3. My cat cuddling up next to me

  4. Seeing my friends after a long time

  5. Seeing my friends every day at school whether it be in our carpool or in classes

  6. Blasting songs in a car and screaming the lyrics

  7. The fact that MANY of my friends are my neighbors

  8. Being with people who know all the lyrics to Queen songs

  9. Spontaneous Shake Shack trips

  10. This blog (although I was inactive lately :( )

  11. Taking off/Landing on a plane

  12. Being picked up from the airport!

  13. Visiting my family whether it be in Estonia, Russia, or Spain

  14. SPANISH ORANGES

  15. SPANISH FRESH SQUEEZED ORANGE JUICE ← trust me... *drool*

  16. Good architecture

  17. When the sun illuminates the whole city-scape

  18. Hitting 20,000 steps after a long walk/hike

  19. Reaching the top of a mountain or trail

  20. Churros and Hot Chocolate

  21. Cliff Jumping

  22. Watching waves crash against the shore

  23. Mojitos

  24. Crazy-big tomatoes

  25. Getting food in a restaurant after being hungry for a while

  26. Holiday music

  27. Peonies

  28. Daffodils

  29. Seared Salmon sushi when its a little warm at the top

  30. Really any type of sushi

  31. My gecko shedding her skin and showing off very bright, colorful colors

  32. When the right “you’re” or “your” is used

  33. Saying “you” instead of “u” in-text ← I’ve just never used u for some reason!

  34. The first bite of cake

  35. Receiving a good grade you worked your butt off for

  36. Block-like modern homes

  37. The calm peaceful sound of waves and gulls in the distance

  38. Racing out to the wind line on a boat

  39. The moment of inspiration when an awesome idea pops into my head

  40. Dancing alone in my bathroom

  41. Dancing with friends anywhere

  42. Decorating the house before New Year!

  43. NEW YEARS excitement

  44. Finding a new song to bop to

  45. Someone complimenting your music choice

  46. Cheese Plates

  47. Compliments on my cheese plates...

  48. EDM remixes to my favorite songs

  49. Christmas lights everywhere

  50. The feel of freshly-cleaned ice on an ice rink

  51. Hugs from my swim students!

  52. Seeing my swim kiddos swim on their own for the first time :’)

  53. Deep conversations

  54. The pain from laughing so hard you forget what was so funny

  55. My cat’s weird meow/purr thing

  56. Grapefruits

  57. Smiles in the hallway

  58. Sitting by a fireplace

  59. Squinting at the sun but then the relief after putting sunglasses on

  60. Blog re-birth

It has been a WHILE since I have posted on here and I certainly plan to do more so in the near future. Honestly, junior year has been like a huge train hitting me in the face so far (in a good way) and I am doing a lot but I also need to step back to what I used to enjoy.


I hope you enjoyed this tiny tidbit of happy thoughts (at least for me). I think it never hurts to step back and think about some happy-inducing thoughts every so often…


Also, notice how I previously had written only 40 things because it was a little under 50…. Now I decided to be a #overachiever and go beyond that. Maybe that’s to make up for last time.


ALSO DISCLAIMER EUNSEO AND I BOTH HAVE ALMOST-FINISHED POSTS WE JUST HAVE TO GET DONE SO GET READY!


Thank you for reading and STAY HAPPY! Sasha

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page