top of page
Writer's pictureSasha Shunko

Lonely Together

Our world is wired in a way that leads us to feel like we're alone.


Scrolling through Snapchat stories, Instagram posts, and maybe even teen girl blogs ;) we are led to thinking that everyone is doing fine and dandy, "living it up" so to speak, untouched by a sliver of sadness.


Maybe even I have deceived you posting about happiness and overcoming barriers in my past.

So here is the truth: honestly, I'm not doing too well.


I've spent quite some time now feeling like I'm locked in my house with nothing but damaging thoughts rushing around in my head.


Can you blame me? We're living in a strange world right now...


I don't want anyone to read this and think that they need to feel bad for me. I think a part of feeling down sometimes is due to this feeling of loneliness, thinking "I must be the only one who feels this way.."


So I write this to anyone who has ever, does now, or feels this way in the future. You really are not alone because this is the side of emotions that people choose not to show, and with good reason.

In a way, I find myself feeling embarrassed to tell even my closest friends that I'm not happy. I don't want to be a bother to them because It's not their job to be my cheer squad!


I constantly share a "be happy" platform, encouraging readers to uplift their spirits and live happily. But as Eunseo mentioned in her most recent post, neverending happiness is not a reality.

It is hard for me to admit to myself that I may not be feeling the way I want to and that can only make it worse as I deny my true emotions, not really listening to myself closely.


So there you have it. I promise you that however you may be feeling, you are not alone and you are not the only one frightened to let that show.


If you're like me and have a very hard time expressing your feelings to others, don't worry, that skill takes time and effort. Talk to one person at first and push yourself to be vulnerable. I also recommend writing things down just for yourself. In a way, putting it on paper lets it go somewhere else.


Now is a really tough time for everyone... I mean, we're locked in our houses!! HOW CAN THAT BE FUN?

But we are all in this together... we are lonely, together.

 

This is a very short post and I'm not sure if I'll keep it up, but I really thought this was important to share.


In this digital age, we have seemingly more connections to one another but it keeps us apart as we attempt to portray ourselves as constantly thriving and living the best life possible.


Let's utilize the platforms we have in the best possible ways to support each other and get through this.


You are not alone.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page